More DIY 3D Scanning Success!

Skull

Now posted to Thingiverse for download.

Now things are getting serious! This is about the best result I hoped for with my 3D scanner project. I realigned and re-calibrated my laser scanner. I entered the new coefficients for converting laser line offset to distance from the camera. I also scanned a more scan friendly object. I am now using a red low pass light filter that blocks out more room light and just sees the laser lines.

For now I will just put in this picture gallery and videos. I will explain everything in more detail over time. For now I am just celebrating!

Here are two videos showing my progress. I can’t wait to 3D print this object this morning!

Here is a gallery showing the 3D printed result. I also built the printer!

Leave a Reply

