3D Printing a Watch Band Part

Here is a really quick post about another practical application of my 3D printer. I have an old Luminox watch that was missing the watch band retainer clip. Rather than trying to buy one, I simply printed a new one. I modeled the part from the same component on my new Luminox.

New Luminox Watch

New Luminox Watch

Luminox Watch Part Detail

Luminox Watch Part Detail

I measured all the dimensions with a digital caliper and made a drawing in Google Sketchup, exported to STL, and used ReplicatorG to create G-Code for my home-made CNC mill converted to 3D printer.

Watch Part Drawing

Watch Part Drawing

And here is the finished product.

3D Printed Watch Band Part Image 1

3D Printed Watch Band Part Image 1

3D Printed Watch Band Part Image 2

3D Printed Watch Band Part Image 2

6 responses to “3D Printing a Watch Band Part

    • Hi! Thanks for your comment.
      I used black ABS. The part really does look good. If I were to re-print it now with the new 3D printer that I built, I would chamfer the corners to make it a bit smoother. It is really tough and should last forever.

      • How good is the quality? It’s hard to tell from the pictures though it looks great. In reality, is the quality as good as commercial strap made from a mold?

      • It’s not as smooth as a molded part. It is also stiffer since I print solid ABS and a molded strap is made out of soft rubber. If I rounded the corners, I think it would be just as good as a commercial, molded part.

  1. Are there softer materials that could be used? If it is not as smooth as molded straps, does that mean it would be best to imagine a textured surface or is the surface as printed pretty cool as opposed to looking cheap versus a commercial strap? Sorry for all the questions, but I’m very much interested in what you are doing.

Leave a Reply

