Laser Cutter Used to Repair 3D Printer

Here is a good example of some of my machines being used to improve and repair other machines. The anti backlash lead screw nut on the Y axis of my CNC mill turned in to a 3D printer sheared off. The printer is based on an old engraver (Engravograph Vanguard 3000 series), so finding a replacement part would be difficult, expensive, and time consuming. I used my laser cutter to replace the mounting end of the lead screw and modified the nut by sliding the new part over the body of the unit, and fixing it in place with a set screw. I used Plexiglas since it cuts well, and I had some on hand. I know this is not ideal, and I might replace it with Teflon at some point, but only if it breaks. Here are some pictures of the broken part and the repair.

One response to “Laser Cutter Used to Repair 3D Printer

  1. Pingback: Never crash my end stops again! « G. P. Le Sage Blog·

Leave a Reply

